Something Different

Standard

The ladies at my writers group today, pointed out that it’s been a long time since last I blogged.  My apologies, I’ve been a bit busy.  In the last few weeks, I’ve done a number of workshops for Logan City Libraries, where I had a great time and learned a few things.

Getting to express my love of books at Logan Central Libray

I’m learning new things everywhere lately, whether it’s from my son who is a walking encyclopedia, new aspects of my daughter or interesting tidbits from my writers group.

At my writers group recently, one of the members explained the process of accessing different ideas,perhaps from a different hemisphere of the brain.  The process for doing this is really simple and I encourage you to try it out, just for something different.

First- Write your name at the top of a page and

Second- Number two columns on the page from one to ten

Third – Using your dominant hand, write a list of personal characteristics in the first column.

Fourth – Cover that column of writing

Fifth – Using your non-dominant hand (in my case my left hand), write a list of personal attributes in the next column

Sixth – Compare the columns

At first I thought this was one of those self-fulfilling things.  People are convinced the columns will be different, therefore they are.  Today, I sat down and tried it out myself.  The column from my left hand was completely different from the column my right hand produced (and I’m not just talking about the handwriting either).

I’m thinking now, that this activity will be particularly useful on Saturday when I present my workshop on Characterisation for the Queensland Writers Centre.  Imagine doing this with a character’s name rather than your own, or even answering character interview questions with both hands.  You could end up with a much more well-rounded character.  I like it.  I think I’ll try it 🙂

By the way, if you’re looking for a workshop on characterisation, I’ll be in the State Library, upstairs at the Writers Centre from ten am on Saturday morning.  Look forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

