Change Your Mind, Save The Planet

Standard

My life is often interesting in the way seemingly disparate things will suddenly come together to make blinding, perfect, sense.  This happened recently when I was in the middle of reading The Sixth Wave, a great book by James Bradfield Moody and Bianca Nogrady.  While I was reading, I happened to get a phone call from one of my brothers.

My brothers work together in a company owned by the eldest, that turns landfill gas into electricity.  They both began their careers as electricians and have, over the course of their lives, collected enough cleverness, ingenuity and guts to create this company.  I love it when the eldest one rings to ask me science-nerd questions, when he’s theorising about a new possibility or idea and needs someone geeky enough to join him for the ride.

I love it even more when he surprises me with his brilliant attitude.  When I told him about The Sixth Wave, and the definition of ‘institutions’ therein, he related this immediately to current process of marketing landfill gas technology.

According to Adam (brother in question),  the traditional way for companies to sell landfill gas technologies to their customers is basically to say “You’ve got this terrible problem, let me sell you a way to fix it.”  Adam’s way, which reflects his mindset perfectly, is to say “You’ve got this fantastic resource, let me help you utilise it.”  It’s a shift in attitude that completely changes the outcome.  We’ve moved from eliminating a problem, to maximising the productivity of a resource.

It was this attitude of his that led us to the next conversational topic; a new process and mechanism he’s helping to research and produce, that might well revolutionise his industry.  He’s so excited by the concept, it’s like listening to a kid talk about Christmas.  The best part of this conversation for me, was to hear him say “Right now, I don’t even care if it doesn’t work.  At the moment I’m thrilled just to be doing this.  It’s amazing stuff!”

We have this in common, all three of my siblings and I.  We love the adventure of learning something new.  Change has never scared us.  Our dignity is not bruised when we’re proven wrong and required to change our minds.  In fact, sometimes changing our minds, changing the angle from which we approach an issue, well,  that changes processes and processes can change the world.

Leave a Reply

