The Melbourne Launch…

Standard

 

People filling the Melbourne venue

 

I am told that the song Four Seasons In One Day (by Crowded House), was written for Melbourne and so it is that I have experienced sunshine, cloud and now rain in my favourite shopping city. But of course it’s not the weather that makes a difference to my mood now. Now it is the people.

The Melbourne book launch was full of interesting, thoughtful and generous people. I had conversations with a woman who had just returned from Poland where she visited the relics of concentration camps. This is relevant to Willow Farrington Bites Back of course, because Izzy and his wife Hannah survived just such camps. Further to this, the woman’s daughter is a psychiatrist who works especially with anorexics. So, Willow is of interest to her for a number of reasons. I also met a lady who hosts a radio program and is looking for a regular contribution regarding teens and teen issues. That would be me! This is a very exciting prospect for me but I think I’ll need to practice my radio voice because generally I have quite a ‘dark’ voice for a girl.

Thanks people!

On top of these two amazing women, I met others who were just generally chatty, considerate and supportive. Considering that I began the afternoon

Finding focus amid the masses!

 

 knowing only two people within the entire crowd, I was thrilled with how many I knew as they filed past saying “Bye Rebecca, good luck!” or “I’ll keep an eye out for the next one!” or “You’re going to be great, I just know it.” or “I can’t wait to read your book, keep up the good work.”

Writing is a solitary process. Because of this, people presume that writers are antisocial, hermit types. It’s not true. We need people. We need people to fill us up with personalities and stories and observations. We need people to remind us of our audience. We need people who will keep us firmly entrenched in the human race. Because if we’re not writing for them, we’re writing only for ourselves (which if you ask me, always results in relatively obnoxious, self-indulgent, irrelevant texts that none but the author can enjoy). So I want to say thank you to all the people who attended the Melbourne launch. Thank you for the welcome. Thank you for the reminder. Thank you for your kind indulgence. It’s been a wonderful trip and I find myself (in spite of the rainy weather), very sad to be leaving.

My youngest fan...or am I hers?

 

Then again, I guess I can always come back to launch another book here, can’t I?

Leave a Reply

